Baby Maya Reusable Baby Food Pouches

IMG_20150419_102314386_HDR

When it comes to baby food pouches, I get a little bummed out because I jumped on this bandwagon way late in the game. My daughter is a year old now and eats regular food so the need for food pouches is pretty much non-existent. I did want to give them a try though because I’m always interested in trying innovative products and since my husband and I want more children, it’s good to know what products are a must for the future. I know that pre-made pouches are available to buy at the store but it seems like that would just get very expensive.

That’s where the Baby Maya reusable pouches come in! You get eight 7 oz. reusable pouches that you can fill with whatever food you decide to puree for your child. The only thing that costs you money after purchasing these pouches is the foods you buy to puree. When you work it out, it still comes out cheaper than the already made pouches from the store. Plus, you are 100% in control of what ingredients go into the pouch. That right there is so important, especially for me!

IMG_20150419_102509464_HDR

With these pouches, you don’t need to worry about the food going bad because you can store what you need in the refrigerator and freeze the rest! On the back of the pouches, there is a little label to write the name and date with a dry erase marker. Just don’t overfill it because when you freeze liquids and purees, they do expand. When you’re ready to use your frozen pouches, just pull them out of the freezer and put them in a bowl of warm water to thaw. You definitely don’t want to put them in the microwave because hot pockets can form and burn your child’s mouth.

IMG_20150419_163511111_HDR

I filled up a pouch for the first time with some apples with cinnamon that I steamed and pureed and gave it to my daughter. She got the hang of it right away alternating between sucking the puree out of the pouch and squeezing it out of the pouch. This is one of the reasons that I wish I had found out about these sooner. It would’ve definitely helped her to learn how to use a straw. She didn’t end up eating it all so I screwed the cap onto the spout and threw it in the fridge so she could finish it later. While she doesn’t need these pouches to eat, I’ll definitely use them randomly for things like applesauce or even mashed potatoes. I could even fill them and take them along when we go on outings so she can have a quick, mess free snack! Something that’s really great about these Baby Maya pouches is that they are extremely easy to clean by hand but they are also dishwasher safe!

Overall, I love that I jumped on the reusable baby pouch bandwagon… even if I was a little late! Being BPA and Phthalate free and being able to control what ingredients are used for the purees, these are such a great alternative to the store-bought pouches! If that’s not enough to convince you to get some of these, just think about all the money you’ll save by making your own!

**Disclaimer**

I received this product at a discounted price in exchange for my genuine and honest opinion.

4 thoughts on “Baby Maya Reusable Baby Food Pouches

  1. I love budget friendly baby products! My son eats from food pouches on the go, but store bought pouches get so pricey, and I worry about the preservatives in them. I like knowing exactly what goes into my son’s foods. I’ll check these out! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

